Attorneys in Morris County, Covering All of New Jersey for Criminal Mischief Charges
While some people think of vandalism, they think of young people engaging in youthful indiscretion. Law enforcement agents and prosecutors think differently. Under New Jersey law, vandalism is referred to as “criminal mischief.” This charge can bring on significant penalties. Further, a criminal conviction can limit a young person’s opportunities in life, causing immeasurable damage to a person’s future. If you or your child has been charged with criminal mischief, it is critical to have skilled legal counsel on your side.
We are the Morristown lawyers of Maynard Law Office, LLC. Our New Jersey criminal mischief lawyers defend people of all ages against serious criminal allegations, including criminal mischief.
Bringing a Strong Defense to Serious Allegations
Criminal mischief is defined under New Jersey law as purposely or knowingly damaging another’s property, or recklessly or negligently damaging another’s property by use of fire, explosives or other dangerous means. Criminal mischief is a disorderly persons offense if the value of the damaged property is $500 or less. If the damaged property is valued at $500 or more, but less than $2,000, criminal mischief can be charged as a fourth-degree crime. If it is $2,000 or more, criminal mischief can be charged as a third-degree crime.
Criminal mischief can be also charged as a third-degree crime if the defendant is found to have tampered with a grave site, airport or research facility.
Our law firm will investigate the specifics of your charges and begin building the best possible defense to these charges. If there are weaknesses in the state’s case, we will exploit these weaknesses and seek a dismissal of the charges. In the event the evidence appears to be strong, we will try to minimize the punishment you face. Our thorough, strategic approach frequently pays dividends for our clients.
Contact Maynard Law Office, LLC in Morristown, New Jersey
Our law firm offers a free initial consultation to discuss your charges. Call us at 973-540-0054 or e-mail us to get started.