Can I Be Removed From Megan‘s Law, CSL, PSL?
How Can People Get Off of Megan’s Law, Generally?
[NOTE – The rule for adults is, in some cases, different from the rule on juveniles. If you are a juvenile who was 13 years old or younger when the Megan’s Law offense conduct occurred, please contact our office for assistance.]
Maynard Law Office, LLC, has earned a strong reputation for protecting the rights of people who are subject to Megan’s Law requirements.
The two sections of the New Jersey Criminal Code that provide for termination of Megan’s Law are Subsection (f) and Subsection (g) of the statute. These subsections apply to all individuals who were older than 13 (14 or older) when the alleged sex offense occurred. The text of each reads as follows:
(f) Except as provided in subsection g. of this section, a person required to register under this act may make application to the Superior Court of this State to terminate the obligation upon proof that the person has not committed an offense within 15 years following conviction or release from a correctional facility for any term of imprisonment imposed, whichever is later, and is not likely to pose a threat to the safety of others.
(g) A person required to register under this section who has been convicted of, adjudicated delinquent, or acquitted by reason of insanity for more than one sex offense as defined in subsection b. of this section or who has been convicted of, adjudicated delinquent, or acquitted by reason of insanity for aggravated sexual assault pursuant to subsection a. of N.J.S.2C:14-2 or sexual assault pursuant to paragraph (1) of subsection c. of N.J.S.2C:14-2 is not eligible under subsection f. of this section to make application to the Superior Court of this State to terminate the registration obligation.
If this language seems confusing to you, you are not alone. These two subsections of Megan’s Law have been the subject of a lot of litigation in recent years. Despite many cases, the exact meaning has still not been entirely clarified by the courts.
Here’s the general rule: If it has been 15 years since your conviction or release from incarceration (whichever happened later) AND you have committed no offenses whatsoever, then you are eligible. However, if you were convicted of Aggravated Sexual Assault, or one specific kind of Sexual Assault, then you may be on Megan’s Law for life.
Keep in mind, this is the general rule, and there are exceptions. Megan’s Law and Parole Supervision for Life (PSL and CSL) are incredibly harsh and over-inclusive. We advise you to seek out the help of an experienced attorney to conduct a full review of your case’s history to learn about your options for relief.
At Maynard Law Office, LLC we provide a thorough review of your file to determine all of your legal options. Our law firm will gather all of the evidence to show that you are not a threat to your community and that your reporting requirements should be terminated.
Many criminal defense law firms will not even attempt to handle appeals of CSL / PSL requirements or provisions of Megan’s Law. Our law firm has successfully argued before the Supreme Court of New Jersey to overturn a section of the Megan’s Law statute. We have the knowledge and experience needed to aggressively pursue termination of your CSL / PSL reporting requirements.
Contact Our Megan’s Law Attorneys, Located Conveniently in Morris County New Jersey
Are you seeking legal counsel and representation after completing your sentence for a sex crime in New Jersey? Are you looking to terminate your PSL or CSL and Megan’s Law requirements? The attorneys of Maynard Law Office, LLC invite you to contact us online at our law offices in Morristown or call 973-540-0054 today. We offer a free consultation.