If you were adjudicated delinquent of a sex offense, you may be able to apply for removal of Megan’s Law as a juvenile. The procedure for getting off Megan’s Law is different if you were found guilty in juvenile court (Family Court) as opposed to if you were convicted as an adult.
If your case was heard in Family Court, then your age at the time of your offense is a key factor as to when you can get off Megan’s Law. If you were under fourteen years old when you committed a sex offense, and are eighteen years old or older now, you may be able to get off Megan’s Law by filing a J.G. petition. Our law firm has helped clients get off Megan’s Law by filing this petition.
Getting off Megan’s Law – Termination for Juveniles under 14 years old at time of offense:
In 2001, the NJ Supreme Court issued an important decision for juveniles subject to Megan’s Law. In re Registrant J.G., 169 N.J. 303 (2001) held that juveniles under 14 years old when they committed a sex offense could seek removal from Megan’s Law. The Court further stated that juveniles in this category had to satisfy certain requirements before getting off. First, a registrant can petition a court if he/she is 18 years old or older. Second, the registrant must prove to the court that he/she is not a threat to others. The prosecutor can oppose a registrant’s petition for termination. This is why it is important to hire an experienced lawyer who knows how to litigate sex offense matters. Maynard Law Office has helped many clients get off Megan’s Law in New Jersey.
Getting off Megan’s Law – Procedure for Juveniles 14 years old or older at time of offense:
Registrants who were fourteen years old or older when they committed a sex offense must follow a different procedure to get off Megan’s Law. First, registrants must typically wait fifteen years from their sentencing date or release from custody before seeking removal. Second, registrants must prove to the court that they do not pose a threat to others. Also, juveniles who were fourteen years old or older when they committed a sex offense are also subject to other New Jersey laws that could affect their ability to get off Megan’s Law. It is crucial to hire a lawyer who understands New Jersey sex offense law and who has experience litigating these matters.
Maynard Law Office Won a Case Decision in the NJ Supreme Court:
Managing member of the law firm, Mr. James H. Maynard, Esq., won a case in April 2018 where the Supreme Court issued a unanimous decision that juveniles can’t be put on sex offender registry for life. In The State of New Jersey in the Interest of C.K. (A-15-16) (077672), the Court ruled that lifetime placement on the sex offender registry violates the state constitution.
Call our law firm today at (973) 540-0054!
Maynard Law Office has successfully helped clients with removal of Megan’s Law juvenile registrants in New Jersey. Call our law firm today for a free consultation.